straits pride

65827354_1675948719216377_7469637345440956416_o.jpg
 

STRAITS PRIDE

We represent Mackinac Island, Saint Ignace, Mackinaw City, Cheboygan, Les Cheneaux, and the surrounding areas. We work to raise public awareness about lesbian, gay, bi, transgender, and other queer-identifying (LGBTQ) people, lifestyles, and traditions; to provide and encourage the provision of safe, equitable, and public spaces for LGBTQ people and their allies within the Straits of Mackinac region; to provide emotional, intellectual, professional, educational, and financial support to LGBTQ people and their allies, and to projects which encourage or create the provision of such support; and to sponsor, host and/or participate in events and activities that promote awareness about LGBTQ people, lifestyles, and traditions.

If you are a resident or visitor of the Straits of Mackinac who identifies as LGBTQ or if you are an ally who believes that all people should be treated fairly and equitably regardless of gender or sexual orientation, we would love to hear from you!

Straits Pride was formed in March 2019 by Travis Sredzinski, Kyrsten Cavazos, Bart Berkshire, and Philip Rice in response to growing need for representation of the LGBTQ+ community in the Straits of Mackinac region.

Our Mission

We provide advocacy and support, encourages understanding, and promotes visibility for the queer community in Michigan’s Straits of Mackinac region.

Board members

Liz Burt

liz@straitspride.org, outreach committee chair

Stephanie Fortino

stephanie@straitspride.org

Molly Townsend

molly@straitspride.org

Jennifer Elizabeth White

jennifer@straitspride.org

Sara Wright

sara@straitspride.org

Travis Sredzinski

travis@straitspride.org, president

Kyrsten Cavazos

kyrsten@straitspride.org,vice president & events committee chair

Bart Theron

bart@straitspride.org, secretary

Philip Rice

philip@straitspride.org, treasurer

Koji Yamamoto

koji@straitspride.org, social media committee chair